The Deleted Forum (or Orphaned Forums) admin control panel allows administrators to undelete (restore) or permanently remove deleted forums.
When a forum is deleted, it is not immediately removed from the database, but rather moved to a recycle bin of sorts. It is done to allow the administrator to restore accidentally removed forums, since once they are truly removed, there is no going back.
This control panel allows the administrator to see all the forums inside the 'recycle bin' and allows the administrator to either restore the forum, by choosing a category where to restore the forum by clicking on the 'Reassign' button or to truly delete the forum by clicking on the delete link.
|TIP: It is a good idea to run the Compact Messages utility after deletion of a forum, especially if that forum had many messages in it.|